[DON’T GO!] Hills View Mountain Villa Review

Tricky Facebook Ad?

Who wouldn’t be captivated by this post below. As of writing, there are already 4867 shares and 2500+ thousand comments. This place was also featured in different newspaper and TV ads so it sounded like a great place. Thus like many others, we got lured to the scenic view and booked our trip right away.

Screen Shot 2016-04-25 at 9.26.35 PMScreen Shot 2016-04-25 at 9.45.24 PM

We imagined a night and day of fellowship time. That the whole house will be for us. That we will just enjoy the exhilarating view. That we will love the foggy ambiance. That we will have genuine conversations and fellowship…

Ms. Emalin Lizardo, owner and manager was also quick in responding our questions. We requested for a TV so we can watch the presidential debate and she said yes. It seemed like we were in for a peaceful treat… We had no idea that we would experience the complete opposite.

DISCLAIMER: I am only sharing what our group experienced. Other groups may have experienced differently. Sharing this so people will have an idea what to expect. Our group did not have this type of information to prepare ourselves. This is to help travellers like our family have the information they may need.

The Unexpected

Two hours from downtown Davao City and we found ourselves in Datu Salumay, Marilog District, Davao City. We were in two vehicles. Our car carried most of the boys (so we can talk to them how to  be men of God along the way) and the other car carried all the girls. We were in high hopes. Until these “unexpected turns” greeted us.

1. Some rough road, at least 30 minutes from the main highway

The Facebook ad above says it’s “5 kilometers going inside barangay road” so we expected to be in the Villa after 10 minutes driving from the highway. Nonetheless, 30-45 minutes after we were still looking for the place and it was already getting dark. The road had some concrete pavements but about 50% of it was curvy and rough road. It was ok. We did not mind that.

2. Steep stairs going up without lights at night.

The stairs going up the Villa was steep. It was already dark when we got there and there were no lights in the path. We had to use our cellphone flashlights to see where we’re going. It was a challenge for a parent like me with small kids. But we did not mind that also.

3. There’s a loud irritating videoke.

Going up we heard this loud singing. The videoke in the Villa was blasting its volumes all over the hills. At first I though it was just the caretakers redeeming their time while waiting for us. But I was completely wrong. That noise did not stop until 1am… (Murag dili lang Davao na naay law against loud videoke, or dili siguro applicable kay layo na man?)

4. Bad customer service (not professional at all)

We did not mind numbers 1, 2, and 3. We were tired and hungry. All we wanted was to rest and eat. We expected warm welcome as most of establishments would do. At least a nice, “Hi, welcome to Hills View…” would have been relieving. But to our shock, we were welcomed by a snob not a smile. Worst was… (ready for this?) they told us that they don’t have a place for us! They said, the Villa was full and couldn’t accommodate more guests!!!

(As we looked around, it’s true there was already a group occupying the Villa. They were already playing games, singing videoke and cooking their dinner when we arrived.)

But wait, what???!!! Is this all real? They don’t have a place for us??? After we reserved and gave a downpayment weeks ago? After we planned all the details and was in good communication with the manger/owner about our stay, these caretakers will tell us that the Villa was already taken?

When all we wanted was to rest, eat, unwind and fellowship, we got stress and eventually trauma instead. 😦 😦 😦

5. No capacity to communicate to the “outside world”

We asked to talk to the manager/owner and they said she’s in Davao. The very point persons we need to be talking are the lumad couple infront of us. The husband (caretaker) suggested to his wife (caretaker) that they get the other woman who has the cellphone so we can talk to the manager/owner but the wife refused cause that person maybe already sleeping cause she’s pregnant. We were trapped with no one to help us from this establishment. We were on our own.

6. The villa is not exclusive to one group making it NOT suitable for a peaceful unwinding

When this couple noticed our frustration, they offered the basement area of the villa for our accommodation. The wife however said that we won’t fit there. This basement area was supposedly for another group but they left because they did not like the place.

So they booked 3 groups on that day. The first group which arrived at 3pm. The second group which arrived later and left. And our group…

In the Facebook ad posted, it mentioned that for, “(5000 pesos whole house overnight good for 15 persons in excess 100/head additional. Can accommodate up to 25 persons) can bring food to cook, we have complete kitchen utensils… A Villa on the top of the Hill overlooking hills and mountains, a place to unwind, group / family bonding, reunions, team building, retreats, and even lovers romantic get away.” But the whole house wasn’t to ourselves alone, we had to share it with 2 more groups (supposedly if the second group did not leave).

Thus, the “unwinding” part was impossible because the place was full of people, making the rooms, CR, view deck and living area dirty and not neatly arranged like seen in photos. There were cats eating food scraps in the view deck/dining area. The group we were with was celebrating a colleague’s birthday and sang that videoke past midnight. We weren’t able to sleep much.

With this situation, we decided not to give the remaining balance. We brought money and was very much willing to pay even more. I had 17k cash and credit cards. I know the rest of the group also brought extra cash.

But we choose not to pay the balance because we signed for the WHOLE house and not the basement. We signed in believing that it’ll just be for our group and not share it with the other groups. The wife (caretaker) even asked us to leave the living area because it was for the group which came first. She wanted us all 20 heads to stay in the basement and just use the kitchen and view deck area. I had to rant and expressed my strong views about their vague marketing and cold customer service. We really feel tricked. We were overly NOT satisfied. We were even willing to just go home even without refunds if we did not have security concerns. Some of our group members had to sleep in cold floors because the basement wasn’t enough for us. 😦 😦 😦

The part of the ad that says it “can accommodate up to 25 persons” was maybe meant for one group. Unfortunately because 3 groups were booked in that day (thank God the other group left), we had to squeeze ourselves in spaces neat enough for sleeping.

Lastly, it was more a camping site not a villa. It may be nice for people who did not travel much. But for people who have been exposed to quality service and great customer service, this place was a let down.

7. Security concerns

After we were told that there was no space for us (going back to the time when we arrived), we remedied to meet the second group who was following us, get Irene and Susan (not real names) who reserved the place and were in communication with Ms. Emalin so we can go to where the cellphone signal is to talk to her.  We needed to hear things first hand from the manager/owner. The caretakers weren’t very helpful. There was no point person in the Villa to resolve issues.

Jay and I did that (with our kids in the car) as we asked the boys to prepare dinner while we’re gone.

We met the second group a kilometer away from the Villa’s location. But they were not alone. They were “escorted” by 2 men on their motorbikes (habal-habal drivers). As we were talking about the situation and remedy we planned to do, these men interrupted and introduced themselves as part of the NPA detachment down the hill. Very assuring right? They told us that they also heard a lot of complains from other Villa guests about Ms. Emalin’s mismanagement. They talked decently. One however was drunk.

So we changed the plan. Instead of going to the highway, we resolved to just going back to the Villa and get that basement.

The way to the main highway was still 30 minutes away, with these “escorts” present in that pitch dark night, our kids in the car, the other group in the Villa — we decided to just accept staying the basement area. Our escorts asked P150 pesos when they left us saying they need money to buy lapad (alcoholic drink).

We told the couple (caretakers) that we will just take the basement and not go home anymore for security reasons, the wife said the NPAs are just in the barrio (so they shouldn’t be a threat) which I assumed is the place down the hill with lighted houses. About 10 minutes from the Villa.

It should not be an issue. But my mind ran wild. The villa is 30 minutes away from the main highway. Communication is almost not available. There was no security guard. It’s a scary scenario that I had to silence in my mind. As the leader of this church group, with my own family and kids in this trip; I felt responsible in some way. I had to have faith in order to feel secure. That God is with us no matter what.

To add, the view deck fencing is also not finished. Children need to be supervised especially at night because they can fall off the deck to the hill…

8. It is an unfinished building, not a fully functional and safe Villa

There were wires sticking and hanging from the ceiling. No power at daytime. There’s generator at night. There was a computer and TV in the basement but we did not see any sockets we can plug in. We asked the caretaker and he said we needed to wait because the extension wire was being used. (Goodbye presidential debate. 🙂 )

There were roaches under the covers (in the basement). The caretakers were nice enough to change it when we asked. There were first aid medicines so it was good. But we also found SEX TOYS (at least 2) in the basement room. Really not good for families with small kids. Why in the world would a establishment for unwinding and retreats hide sex toys in the very rooms they’re giving to their guests?!

There were lots of pillows and blankets. So it was good.

No fans… It was hot in the basement rooms until around midnight.

The kitchen truly has all the utensils. No fridge though. And you need to bring drinking water if not the water in the faucet is your only option.

The villa is also not sound proof so when you’re using the basement room, you can hear the footsteps of those in the view deck.

9. Confusing information 

Our group just decided to enjoy the time. Despite the co-sharing set up, loud videoke and bad customer service… We talked, laughed at jokes, played Uga-Boga, took photos, after dinner. We just tried to lighten up the situation. We decided to just make it through the night and get some sleep after the videoke was turned off. It was all going smoothly so we thought. We adjusted… Breakfast time the next day however brought new challenges to spice up our day.

We were greeted by 2 new characters. They said that we need to pay the remaining balance because we were to be housed in another place called D’ Captain’s Haven. One even added that the staff there even waited for us…

😦 😦 😦

I ranted again. “Then why are you telling us this info just now? We booked our stay for Hills View Mountain Villa NOT D. Captain’s Haven. Why were we greeted coldly last night and were told that you guys DON’T have a room for us when we were supposed to stay in another place?” They did not answer. They just left. I finished my breakfast commanding myself to embrace self-control.

10. Bad customer service (yes, I have to stress this again because…)

They followed Irene wherever she went because they want her to pay. We were all already in the parking lot about to leave when they “illegally detained” Irene so she pays. When Irene explained and showed their Facebook posts of the WHOLE house thing, they keep quiet and said that we will be the one to explain to Ms. Emalin Lizardo which we were very much willing to. But they still “illegally detained” Irene. It was just her surrounded by a group of people. Some of (I think) their relatives from the nearby tribal village gathered and intimidated her.

So some of our guys went up the Villa again to get Irene. This time, they said we need to pay extra P200 for the use of the kitchen. Payment for the kitchen? It is supposedly part of the whole house? This was not communicated to us that there’s an extra kitchen payment.

My husband got fed up with this bad service and ranted… They also started coercing our group by saying  to each other “atangan nato…” We were out on our own without the capacity to communicate to anyone downtown and this is what they tell us. We managed to get Irene and got inside our cars in the middle of these caretakers yelling and cursing us… (nice customer service right?). And just as we were driving away, two men in their motorbike came to the parking lot where we were. One with machete in his back…

We drove off seconds before they can get out of their motorbikes…Accounts from the second car (we were ahead of them) saw these men throw stones at them. We were traumatized that we were always watching our side mirrors checking if they followed us. If they hit us and we stopped to confront them, did they plan to attack us with their machetes? We don’t know. At least that was the message they sent to us. Hope we’re wrong.

PERSONAL REFLECTIONS: Where in the world would you see a business doing this to their customers? This is totally absurd. If they have issues with us not paying the balance because they don’t understand our feeling of being tricked and frustration, they should have talked to us nicely.  We would have paid because despite the “no-place-for-us-even-after-reserving-the-place-weeks-before” incident, we could have understood if we were treated nicely. If there has been miscommunication… or that they want us to stay in that Haven’s place, or whatever we can adjust if there was a clear communication, direction and respectful dealing.

We forgive them though. We understood that the caretakers were lumads. They may not have the right knowledge how to deal with the situation.

Don’t Go Unless…

Good thing they did not follow. We planned to stop at the nearest police station to report if they continued with their “harassment”. That place needs to be closed and be fixed before it needs to be open again. It is not safe and not customer-friendly as of the moment.

These recommendations are given from a concern customer to save other customers and the business:

  • The Villa needs to be finished and functional. Complete fencing, rest rooms… Clean rooms.
  • The management needs to be honest in their advertisement details. It is unfair for customers to realize that they are in for a let down, after they’re already there.
  • There needs to be a good security and communication set up esp. when emergencies arise (like when someone is abducted by the NPA, a security should be able to communicate the incident to the nearest 911 despatch).
  • There should be a stay-in manager to address concerns and not leave customer relations to caretakers who don’t treasure the importance of customer satisfaction and will harass customers instead when they don’t get what they want. The incident above would have been pacified immediately if a manager was there to address issues and make tired, hungry and ready to relax customers, happy.
  • The manager/owner needs limit the number of visitors daily. I believe customers are willing to pay more for solace. This is what this place is selling. And it can’t be delivered when there are at least 50 people in that villa good for 25 persons.

Nice View

To be fair with the Mountain Villa, the place has a nice view. It was a series of hills with some clouds suspended on top. But these are also common among other resorts in Buda area. After the sunrise/sunset, it’s not that exciting anymore too.

In some of the Facebook photos, there were fogs but we did not experience it. It can be a sweet spot for relaxation if only it’s not that crowded and the people serving are nice. Customer service always alleviates and amenities can be set aside. Unfortunately both we’re missing in this place during our stay. Thus the great view this place is offering does not soothe the ill-feeling we had in our hearts.

Lessons Learned

Until now I am still shaking as I relive the moments in writing. Ms. Emalin Lizardo texted Susan a text she (supposedly) sent to her caretakers. The text said told that the caretakers need to apologize (to us?). That the group that arrived first should be in D’ Captain’s Haven (and the whole house to ourselves? How about the second group which left?). That we won’t have to pay the remaining balance anymore since we just stayed in the basement (another confusing story again). Isn’t it that few hours ago, they told us that WE were supposedly for D. Captain’s Haven (breakfast time)? Isn’t it that the reason why they “harass” and verbally attacked our group because they showed a text from Ms. Emalin Lizardo to get money from us? It all got mixed up because instead of apologizing for the poor management and unacceptabe customer service, they try to cover up one issue with another situation. It maybe be true… But our groups feels like she was just saying that to cover up the name of the Villa.

Just like presenting great photos and inviting info covering the bad side of the Villa? Maybe. Whatever their motives are, we rest our case. God sees everything…

We did not have a great experience, we had failed expectations but we learned our lessons….

  • We need to always consider travel reviews about a place first before going there. We always do in our local and international trips, in our case however, most reviews were positive and did not mention these things above.
  • Check if the place is registered with Department of Tourism (DOT) and the business bureau. In this case DOT Davao contacted us (after reading this blog) and mentioned that they are not registered with the DOT (as of writing). Our group also did not see any business certifications like those big BIR (Bureau of Internal Revenue) orange signs we see in all registered business establishments framed with other papers. They might be hidden somewhere. Or maybe they are not registered (as of writing).
  • Pictures can be tricky.
  • Vague ads are hiding something.
  • Rant but have self-control.
  • Forgive.

Again, this post may or may not completely reflect other group’s experience. This was our experience. Writing this so others can be warned… also so the management can be guided in their operations. Because…


God bless us all! 🙂

UPDATE:  Miss Braeden Annz Yu Noh, daughter of the owner/manager of Hills View Mountain Resort, Emalin Lizardo reached out to me to apologized. I made a follow-up blog on this here: https://julmargrace.wordpress.com/2016/04/27/hills-view-mountain-villa-apologized/.

Published by Julmar Grace Locsin

Grace hails from her favorite city in the world, Davao City! She is a mom of twins, Sovi and Tice and is happily married to business owner and musician, Jay Locsin. She considers herself an "eye" who loves to say out of what she sees. Her articles focus on family, parenting, marriage, and motherhood as part of the Christian life. She is also a big believer of the Filipino call and destiny and writes a lot about revival in the Philippines. Her work have been featured in a lot of online publications, national tabloids and radio shows like the Philippines Star, GMA News (Mindanao) and DzBB. She is currently helping her husband with their business teaching other families how to earn from home as she manages homeschooling, writing, and finishing her doctorate. Follow Grace's journey as she inspires, make an impact, and transform nations for heaven, for the King!

116 thoughts on “[DON’T GO!] Hills View Mountain Villa Review

    1. We weren’t harmed. Just traumatized. 🙂 We also understood that the caretakers may have reacted because the don’t have the exact knowledge how to deal with issue and make customers happy. Hoping that the management will make some changes. 🙂

  1. I feel so sorry for the bad experience that you and your group had from this particular place. I can really feel the heavy frustration and deep trauma brought upon all of you instead of the anticipated bliss and relaxation. I hope that the owners of the place would become fully aware of this situation and their responsibility to improve the place and their quality of service. Thank you so much for sharing these things to us and enlightening us to be more careful with such offers. We should really be “gentle as sheep and cunning as wolves” in dealing with this world most of the time. God bless you and your family.

    1. Thanks for your empathy Leo. Appreciate it. That’s our prayers too. That changes be done for everyone’s welfare. 🙂

    1. Welcome Kimaii.Balik lang mo if na-improve na. 🙂 Sa amoa though kay natrauma jud mi, dili na mi mobalik. Hehe.

  2. Reblogged this on A Less Passive Entry and commented:
    That was a traumatizing experience. This isnalso one of the reasons why I do research before I go to an unfamiliar spots. Glad to knownyou guys were ok. You can try Alice Log House next time with a sidetrip of day trek to EPOL Falls.

    1. Thanks for sharing. We were not familiar with Alice Log House. This place was hot in Facebook that’s why. Can’t also do treks cause we have smaller kids. All we wanted to do was just to chill and have a great time with friends. This place looked perfect for that. Unfortunately… 😦

    2. I have been looking for this place “Alice log house & Epol falls”. Real nice to come across it here. I have been asking and even tried online research but I could just really not recall the name of the place. Thank you for bringing this up Ma’am.

      1. Been really busy these past year. lol. I was supposed to do a post for Alice Log House and EPOL falls. I guess better late than never. We had a great time there! You shouldn’t pass on that. 🙂

    1. We look at photos sa D’ Captain’s Haven when we got here and it looks nice and safe (with gate). Hope their advertising and photos are not tricky…

    2. Mas nice sa d captain. Mas accomodating ang mga tigbantay. Ning-ana pud nahitabo sa amoa kadtong nangadto mi sa hills view. Mao to namalhin na lang mi sa d captain which was mas nice pa ang place unya mas secured kaau ka..

  3. How did you book your stay? I know the owners of the place. I don’t know though if they are the sole owners or not. As far as I know they partnered with a travel agency(?) for the bookings which costs 5k (through the owners it was less). I saw the booth of this group in Abreeza’s travel fair. They advertised d captain’s haven too.
    So sad to hear that this is what happened. Planned to go there with church friends too. Thanks for sharing.

    1. Hi Dana, we booked our stay via instruction in Facebook (seen in the screenshoot). Then we deposited to the bank the owner/manager sent. I think she’s the only one. That’s what was communicated by the caretakers. But they are friends by D’ Captain’s Haven.

      1. Ohhh siguro po let us just give them one year or so para mapaayos ang kanilang management. Tama nga po talaga kayo be careful nga po sa false claim.

      2. Yes. I have lots of friends from other countries complaining that our businesses here are claiming one thing but deliver another thing. It’s a common idea… But this one still surprised us – kasi deceiving po talaga. 😦

      3. Me and my friends were really impressed by the picture of Mountain Hills, particularly it was endorsed by a travel agency situated in Abreeza. It looked so idyllic. And yes po ang dami pong ganyan. Siguro po looking into Trip Advisor would help a lot.

      4. We were like that too. We were impressed with the photos… 😦 Yes Trip advisor is always helpful. Planning to post my review there.

  4. bakit hindi kaau gumawa ng legal actions u have kids right? it must be stop baka gawin din nila sa iba. ang laki ng liability nila sa inyo, how will u forgive them in that scene na may machete gosh and again u have kids.

    1. Yes Rain… We planned to go directly to the police station and sue if they followed… But they didn’t so just went home straight to rest cause it was terrifying. Our kids were all in the care and have no idea of what’s going on. 😦 This is the least we can do… To warn others to what can be expected.

  5. friend bya nko ang tag iya ani. we are really enticed to experience this place to bond with friends. however, upon reading ur blog, dakong chaka. i guess we have to go somewhere. thank u.

  6. my friend is the owner of this villa though wala pa mi kaadto. planning pa lng kay gwapo jud ang view and the accom.

    however, upon reading ur blog, murag dili na lng mi muanha dha.

    thank u.

    1. It might be our experience lang po. But now reading some reviews same pud ilang na-experience they felt deceived… 😦

  7. We’ve been there and we were all disappointed. We shared the house with another group. We didn’t pay the remaining balance because of the big lie they did to us.

      1. yes..reservations are useless coz that person named eddie is also accepting walk in clients and he wont honor any reservations made by emalin.He only honor those who reserve rooms through him and payments receive by him in person…in the end he gave us a small room while our reservation was supposed to be good for 6 – 10 persons saying na “magsinabtanay lang ta ani”.worst when we transferred to another room the following day, some items left in our old room went missing and we just had to confront the supposed caretakers as they are the ones who went inside the rooms after we left and transferred-to clean.( tanga pa jud daw mi kay bilin2x ug gamit) they allegedly kept the things left in their -lost and found drawer- while they know that we are the latest occupant of the room..the thing is, we are still in the process of transferring while those things had been left.. when we tried to confront them they started to shout at us..they also made stories that certain guests before were threatened by their lumad friends,neighboring the resort, allegedly bringing with them their dogs..the following day we witnessed that eddie and emalin shouting and arguing with each other while comparing their respective lists of reservation.in the end we transferred to the villa that was reserved really for us but we chose to leave the resort because the caretakers are already adverse to us and while the sun is still up..the area is a dead spot for any cellphone signal and any distress call during night is an absolute imposibility..so my advice really is avoid the area not unless you want a freddie vs jason, the cabin- kind of vacation in mind.

      2. Nature na jud diay nila na mo-harass and poor na jud diay ilang customer services. Praying for justice sa mga nabiktima pareho nato. Thanks for sharing your story… Appreciate it. Al least ang mga mobasa na na blog ang comments will be WARNED. Not safe jud siya – especially sa emotions. Ma-stress nuon ang tao instead na makarelax.

  8. very informative..thanks for sharing your traumatic experience. We have plans on staying here for our next family reunion but I don’t think its going to happen. Just out of curiosity what do the owners have to say on your experience?

    1. Hi Ms. Erlyn, she was in communication with her people (caretakers) because we can’t send anything – no signal. We we got out of the area she sent us the text displayed in the blog (bottom part). We don’t want to deal with her any longer. It looks like all her dealings are deceiving. She will just give us another “cover up” again. She’s deleting and blocking people who are giving bad comments in her Facebook ad to guide her management. God is our witness. He is just.

  9. Same experience fuck the Emalin. Shes not managing her job. 3 booking on the same room at the same day. Wtf ill post this also to my blog. Bad experience ever. Die Emalin

    1. I understand your frustration. 🙂

      WE’LL NEVER GO BACK again nor recommend the place to anyone. It’s not SAFE. She was not there. he was just feeding her people what to do and her caretakers ATTACKED us verbally, emotionally… and threw stone at our cars… They may have attacked us with their machetes if we did not get our there quick. These businesses SHOULD BE CLOSED!

  10. Share lang base on experience Di nga masayadong maganda doon kasi medo slidy yung stairs doon and naaksidente kasi ako doon na slide ako at nagka fracture sa right foot buti naman magaling na ngayon pero di kasi masyado safe ang stairs doon at medyo rude pa sayo yung mga caretakers ..

    1. Good to know na you’re healed. 🙂 The management need to teach the caretakers how to treat their customers nicely.

  11. nothings spectacular there except the view, the placement of the house (overlooking) and pines within the vicinity. yes, walk-in visitors can go upstairs or even use the CR located in the basement even nakareserve na. accidental ra pud among pag-adto ddto kay maoy girefer una sa habal-habal driver. its 5k more or less from the main road, ang problema lang is rough road like lubak jud. so katong mga sedan/van ang dala, hinay jud ang padagan. ilang reference sa travel time i guess is habal-habal. 3/10 overall rating (compare sa mga inland resort/villa)

    1. Thanks Earm… Mao siguro it took us 30 minutes kay naka-SUV mi (both cars), ngit2 na sad… Agree on the nice view. They need to upgrade the facility and limit the number of people though. I’ll give 0/10 because of the harassment we got. 😦

  12. Same experience .. we booked for one night recently and when we got their around 9pm, the owner just told us that the villa is full and we will be staying in D captains Haven. Oh my, we thought that it was just a miscommunication between my mom and the owner but truly ganito na pala ang service nila.. tsk! we recommend this plance pa naman.. not anymore.

    1. We also thought it was just a miscommunication sa among kauban ang the owner Mary Grace. But the comments in this blog disclosed na occurring incident diay. 😦 Sana maayos nila.

  13. If it was us we will really go to the nearest police station and file case against them. The cursing and throwing of stones and stuff seems so scary.

    1. That was the plan Shenneth if they pursued us. We are all traumatized so we weren’t able to think straight that time. 😦 We’re all rest though.

  14. hala ka diha! muadto bya me krn june 12, pero murag tungod ani mhdlok na nuon me mo go. pero nganu 5k inyoha mam unya sa amoa 4k nkapag down name ug 2k tpos ana to tg iya na wala silay day tour and the whole house ky kami lang. tsk tsk tsk tpos dli na si emalin amoa na kontak lahi na person pero sila mn ghpon dw tg iya. 😔

  15. Poor management. There should be a manager and a caretaker standby in the place. And customer service is very important, people won’t mind paying if they are satisfied with service. It sounds like the place is not ready to function. But they could have get away with that if they have an excellent service. I feel sorry for your experience. Thanks for sharing. I won’t go to that place it doesn’t sounds safe to me.

    1. Yes Terri. We don’t mind any “challenges” at all as long as we were treated right… Agree, there should be someone on stand by to bring direction and solutions.

      1. Dapat i report ni sila, SCAM nman na. Since not just one costumer ang nka experience wd d same treatment. Mao najud ilang style. Dpat ma stop na nah sila or else dghan pa ma biktima ani nla. Coz not evryone ang mka basa ani na blog. Ilahang post sa Fb is inviting jud baya, mas dghan mka kita sa ilang post kysa sa mka basa ani. Dapat i report na sila before pa naay mas worst na mahitabo sa mga muadto pa ddto.

        God bless us all

  16. Pictures are very impressive kasi…and so with the view! but then thanks so much for sharing your experience with us, at least may idea na ako ngayon. I wanted to bring my family sana there with friends but with your story and sharing with us the picture of the location, we might as well go to Dahilayan Adventure Park… Again i am so thankful for your story and let others be warned too… i don’t want to take risk specially with my kids & family & friends! More power to you po & God bless you po!

  17. Better in Gethsemane still in Datu Salumay before that place. I assure you sis it was very nice. it has water & lights. We make sure you have a security there.

  18. Hi po Ma’am! 🙂

    I was there with my friends and officemates last April 23-24. Nagchecked in kami sa Captain’s Haven through Ms. EMALIN. Taken na kasi ang Hills View that time. I agree with your statement na superb yung view ng Hills View. We went there at around 5am kasi to witness the sea of clouds. And Ms. Emalin was there that time and infairness naman sa kanya at mga staff niya naaccommodate naman kami ng maayos, they were guiding us kung san maganda ang angles. 🙂
    Hindi ako against sa mga sinasabi ko, im just sharing lang po yung experience ko kaya shocked ako sa “harassment” statement.

  19. OMG! were about to have a over night pre-nup photo and video there by June this year…nka booked na din kami…nkakatakot pala! If just in case kawawa clients q…thank u for this reminders..God Bless

  20. HMM…good thing hindi namin na experience ‘to the last time we went there, in all fairness na solo namin ung place and they accommodated us so well, they even helped us in cooking and even let us borrow cooking wares, the thing though is that the place is really far but Good thing we didn’t experience any harassment. We got a good time with friends and we found the place perfect for our Team Building, we loved the thought that we cannot use our phones so we can really talk and bond.

  21. Tsk! Tsk! May gani ako ni gi tagaan og time na basahon…plan pa nmn namo mag adto ddto…jusko mag puyo nlng ko sa balay… tsk! Tsk! For sure dghan na mag cancel mag adto ddto if mka basa ani na post..nindot pa nmn lng mga photo na gina post kaso layo ra mn diay sa reality…

  22. Thank you for this info. I hope you are safe and secure at di na kayo pupuntiryahin. NPA pa naman. I shared this article and hope that more people will become aware. Be safe always.

  23. I thank you for sharing this wonderful and honest review. Just on time when I needed it… planning to visit the place as I have heard it also from ads. Sorry for the bad expereince – it is really sad to be treated the way you have mentioned. I feel sorry for you.

  24. Been there already only for day tour, have seen how unsafe the stairs were, their viewing deck and the place as a whole. The view is great, but guests safety is of utmost concern. During our visit last April 3, I was wondering why a group of people/guests stayed there in the parking area, as I parked my vehicle a lady from Panabo approached and asked me if we will stay there, and told her that we were just having a daytour as the place was already booked thus we just spent our night at JIVE, i asked them if why they’re still there, she told me that they’ve been there for a while already, too afraid to alight from their vehicle because they hear gunshots from somewhere, so I asked the Lumads who were there and they said its just an encounter in the other side of the mountain sir, nothing to be afraid of. For them that might be the case but for the guests well, the place really is not for the faint-hearted.

  25. We’re actually suppose to go there for a family reunion with kids as young as 3 y/o. How sad that you’ve gone through that experience. Actually my friend has been there. She said the place was really nice since she went there with high school classmates. She said it’s really not exclusive and the service is not good at all however not as worse as you’ve experienced. Thanks for sharing though.

  26. thanks po sa info mam grabe pila na kaha ilang nailad nuh? dili lalim ang pag byahe from dvo padulong sa ilang villa unya ingnon lng kag full na? mu ulbo jud ang kaspa uy! may unta indot ang dalan kay pwd ra dayun mubalik sa agi pinaabtik! naa bya me plan muadto diha pero rough road kaayo kay naka adto me gethsemane murag diha man gihapon agihon mao murag nawala among gana muadto.. if marilog wala na koy lain ma recomend worth the money and time sa hill88 r jud sila na magluto sa food kaya relaxing jud kaayo w. pool pa. try po ninyo 🙂 I hope wala na silay mailad ang money makita ra na pero ang bad experience lisod na malimtan.tsk

  27. thanks sa info. our group can decide now not to make reservation anymore diyan sa Hills View Mountain. Courtesy and respect to customers are really important in business…isa pa..pinaka importante yong Safety…wla pla sla. at least now we knew.

    1. Sure. Please copy the whole thing though. I want to stress that the owner’s daughter already asked for apology and the management are doing improvements. Blessings.

What do you think of this post?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: